Skip to content

Bible Study: One Foot In Front of the Other, week five

by on June 24, 2013

Christ on the Storm On the Sea of Galilee Rembrandt van Rijn, 1632

ONE FOOT IN FRONT OF THE OTHER

SUMMARY

RECAP

I find the lives of the lives of Abraham, Noah and Esther causes me to take personal inventory. I hope to find Jesus in the midst of my “inventory”.

SUMMARY

How are we, as well as our loved ones, placing one foot in front of the other during our daily journeys? Are we nourishing one another in Him?  We do not need to be facing horrific situations to bow to our knees to seek Him.

Not one of us are guaranteed a tomorrow, all of our days are numbered. We cannot afford to put off seeking the Savior of our eternal souls! What are we learning along the way, who are we touching because of, or in spite of, our journey? Are we using whatever affliction we may have for His pleasure and outreach? What if they offered only excuses? I only have the one son that I wait a very long time for (Abraham). Or are we slow to speech (Moses), reluctant?  My math doesn’t compute that high (Noah), I don’t have the support system, all my family is gone (Esther). Are our responses, “It’s too big for me, I don’t have the strength.”  And to our shame, “I don’t have the time.”?

Here’s a “wow” mentality from Paul:

2 Corinthians 12:7-10 And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure. 8 Concerning this thing I plead with the Lord three times that it might depart from me. 9 And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distress, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

How can we turn from our own short-sighted agenda to God’s purposes? What steps do we take?

I told the Lord, “I just want to make You proud of me.”  Unfortunately, I don’t always make my Abba proud.

Are our spiritual steps similar to the first steps of a child? I’m often stumbling about, losing my balance in my journey. But He “rights” me before I have even fallen, before I have even completed my crying-out to Him. He takes my hand and will not let me fall or hurt myself, but I must be holding His Hand for that to happen. I need to slow it down sometimes and experiment with just how big of a step that I can master with my Master. It’s when I let go of His Hand that I get hurt.

Reflect upon the major first steps do we take in life:   Decision to be born again, relationships, work, peer pressure…

While you reflect, remember the times that He intervened on your behalf or fashioned an experience or situation for future glory to Him. Whether your walk is like Isaac’s; unknowingly placing one foot in front of the other only to expe3rience salvation at the end or if we are experiencing the difficult, laborious step in front of the other, it doesn’t necessarily matter. What matters is that we are walking under His umbrella and divine will as we best know it. God desires our dependence on Him. Visit the Jordan, where you find spiritual renewal. (For me it’s hiking in the wilderness/forests.) It does not take a superhuman or one with supreme faith to walk the daily walk. WALK.

HOMEWORK:

Revisit all of the miraculous things the Master has done in your life and in the lives of those close to you. List them, it may surprise you just how many there are! Continue to work on that list, adding to it throughout your life.

For me, I’m not taking my testimonies to the grave.

From → Bible Study

One Comment
  1. WoW, What a Blessing! I needed to hear that. God has given you such wisdom in His word. I want to follow in the foot steps of my Lord, Jesus. Help me Lord, to be more like you, and love others as you do!

Leave a Reply

